Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > General > Seeking advice Please
TOPIC: Seeking advice Please
PM Combat Medic
Standard User
Seeking advice Please
Combat Medic
23rd Sep 2017 07:47:28

Hi there, I am a novice wargamer and would be grateful if anyone could advise me on which figures I would need to buy to put together 2 forces (Prussian & French) to refight Plancenoit 1815 in 6mm.  I would also be grateful for advice on which rules you guys would suggest to replay this action?  I am particularly confused when it comes to the figure to man ratios.  Thanks for any assistance.

Kind Regards

Midge

Email dourpuritan PM dourpuritan
Standard User
Seeking advice Please
dourpuritan
23rd Sep 2017 10:48:35

These days  I tend to ignore figure to man ratios. A unit is made up of so many bases: dependant on the rules being used that unit may be a division, brigade, regiment, company. The number of figures on the base then becomes a matter of personal choice, so a skirmish unit will have fewer more dispersed figures than a line unit. Similarly a base using 6mm figures will have more figures than one using 28mm, eg. in DBA I have 10mm figures, but use the 60mm wide basing convention of the 28mm game. Consequently my units actually look like units. This is even more noticeable if 6mm figures are used. Similarly in Bloody Big Battles (C19th rules) I use 6mm figures on a 30mm square (about 12 figures in two ranks), some people play the same rules with the same base size with only four 15mm figures on the base - in both cases the base represents 1000 actual men. Unless you are playing an old style game, which uses single figure casualty removal, then figure to man ratio is not very important.

A little goes a long way

PM Glenn Pearce
Standard User
Seeking advice Please
Glenn Pearce
23rd Sep 2017 02:23:53