Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Rules > Polemos Rules > Napoleonic GDD - some Rule questions
TOPIC: Napoleonic GDD - some Rule questions
PM oppi
Standard User
Napoleonic GDD - some Rule questions
oppi
26th Jan 2016 08:50:25

Hi,

im just starting out in 6mm wargaming and im currently trying out the GDD rules for my humble beginning. I just have a couple of questions regarding the rules.

1. Do i have to use the full movement ? For instance, if my Unit moves 4BWs, do i have to move the complete distance or can i decide to just move to any point within this distance ?

2. Is it advisable / possible to play with skirmishers completely seperated from other infantry, meaning using an own complete base ? or should i always mount some skirmishers on some parts of my line infantry bases ?

3. can someone explain me more smple how i should turn groups / units ? english is not my native language, so maybe i dont understand it properly

4. Would it harm the game if i cut down the measurements of moving / range ? Meaning instead of 60mm as BW usint 40mm as BW while still keeping the bases at 60x30mm (same question for mde)

Im pretty sure i will have more questions soon, but so far im loving GDD. MDE is nice too, but somehow im missing firing muskets in there...

Thanks in advance,

Torsten

Email Extra Crispy PM Extra Crispy
Standard User
Extra Crispy
27th Jan 2016 02:35:09

Hello Torsten:

1) No. You can use some, all or none.

2) I would not - by making them their own unit you make them far more powerful. 

3) I always do it the same way no matter what rules I'm using. I spin the unit or group of units on one corner, like a door. I measure how far the other corner goes.