Polemos GNW Amendments, clarifications, etc.

The following are a number of corrections, clarifications, etc for the Polemos Great Northern War rules.

Light Guns (Section 3.6 Artillery and others: Page 12)

Question: Light guns are up to 4 pdr guns, does this include 4 pdr’s.?

Answer: Light Guns are small guns used in close support of (normally) infantry. While FG are larger guns acting more as long range
fire support. The problem with 4pdr’s is that they seem to have been used both ways. So if they are assigned for close support they are
LG's otherwise they are FG's. If in doubt I would classify them as FG's.

Bombardment (Section 9: Pages 25 and 26)

Question: Bombardment; +1 same target as last turn (page 25, right hand column: Dice Modifiers). Is this target type
(command/army) or are we talking stands i.e. To get the modifier must I be able to target the same stands I targeted last turn?

Answer: Bombardment is against a command or against the whole army. So if you fired at the whole army last turn you get a +1 this
turn if you fire at it again. With commands as targets it is firing at the same command as you fired on last turn. It is not important if
you can exactly see the same stands.

Question: (Paged 25, Dice Modifiers) You have modifiers for target size 11 to 20, 21 to 30 and 31 to 40 bases why?

Answer: Bombardment is basically area fire & the size of the target modifiers is used as a way of reflecting the size of the target you
are shooting at. Remember you are shooting at a command or other large group of bases & not an individual base. Also the effects of
bombardment are generally on the command structure - TP loss, etc. Rather than on the bases directly.

Question: Wouldn’t it be easier to hit a larger army (more stands) that it would a small army?

Answer: Yes easier to hit but more difficult to do anything to. Say you fire at a command of 10 bases and you get a 140 result. Then
anything that these 10 bases do that turn will cost an extra 1 TP, i.e. the fire has produced enough minor disorder, etc, to make it more
difficult to do things & 'command' effectively. But if the same number of guns hit a command of 40 bases and get the same result then
all 40 bases get to pay an extra 1 TP to do anything that turn. The minuses for target size reflect the fact that it is more difficult to
produce the same level of minor disorder, etc, with the same number of guns if there are more units that will be affected.

Passage of Lines (Section 10.6: Pages 30 — 32)

Question: Which (if either) of the following is
correct?

1) Passage of Lines (PoL) is a 2+ turn manoeuvre. Since there must be a one BW gap (per 10.6.2 second paragraph),
and infantry moves 1 BW per turn, it can only PoL the next turn (or whenever the gap is closed).

2) To PoL one unit moves back one BW (thus closing the gap
presumably to less then one BW) and the other then moves forward, causing the PoL.

So once declared, at some point it will have to begin the turn within one BD and end up behind the other unit.
Answer: Please check Success and Failure at the bottom of page 31.
If you pay for both units or groups to move. One stands still and the other moves (the standing still one is making gaps in the unit to
allow the moving one through). So you declare who is moving, i.e. the front one or the back one. Then you roll the dice. If you get a
success the moving unit can move 2BW (if foot) and pass through. If you get a failure the moving unit moves to touch the front or

rear, whichever is appropriate, of the non moving unit and all assume 'mess formation' :)

So the moving unit effectively moves a lot quicker when doing this, i.e. they split formation move at the double to their new position
and attempt to reform.

Looking at it again I think I should have said that you must be 1 to 2 BW from the edge of the unit you are passing through. Plus you
always, assuming you are the right distance away, end up the other side of the unit you pass through.

Also check out the example on page 32, this should help as well.



Question: From page 31 -- "There must be a gap of IBW or more between the initial position of the bases and any friendly bases
behind or in front of them. If the gap is less than 1BW then a passage of lines may not be attempted."

When I first read this, I understood it to mean that there needed to be a gap of at least IBW between the two units involved in a
passage of lines. Now I'm wondering if you are referring not to the two units doing the "passing", but units near them. Meaning that a

passage cannot be attempted if there isn't room for the moving unit to "fit"?

Answer: The gap is between the 2 units or groups involved but of course you need to physically have room to fit the moving unit in
after it passes through.

Charging Fire
Example: Charging Fire (Page 38, Right hand column)

Correction: Second paragraph, line 9: The Russian starts with a def value of 3 and rolls a 5 but the total result for the Russian is
only 4, this should be 8.

Question: Third paragraph, line 2: +1 because the centre base has preformed charging fire, this one isn’t shown on page 37 is it the
same as “has succeeded in charging this move?

Answer: Yes that is right. Performing 'charging fire' counts as successfully charging. The idea being that the fire might actually

physically do something, i.e. you might give a shaken level to the target. But the 'charging fire' will cause minor disorder/soften up
the target & make it easier for others to charge in.

Army Lists (Section 22: Pages 46 — 66)
Question: In the Historical Lists, you have a number in brackets behind each regiment e.g. Narvski (2)

Is this the number of Polemos stands required to recreate the regiment in the historical army, or is it the number of real battalions in
the historical army, which may be the same number, or not?

Answer: In the vast majority of cases these things are the same, the obvious exception being some Swedish units at Poltava. If you
look at this army you will see that some units are denoted 1 (2) - i.e. they are theoretically 2 battalions but actually they are so small
that 1 Polemos base is used. So it is strictly speaking the number of bases you need for the unit in Polemos terms. But in the vast
majority of cases this is in fact the number of battalions present.

Incidentally this is not always the case. Cavalry often have a smaller number of bases than the theoretical number of squadrons would
suggest. While in some of the other lists available, i.e. those not in the rules, different situations exist. Normally though I have
indicated when this is the case.

Corrections/Typing mistakes

Page 49, Right hand column: Trubelskoy’s Command.

“Streltsi (2 Brigades):” should read “Streltsi (1 Brigade):”

Page 55, Right hand column: Commanders
Under ‘Commanders available’ delete ‘Armfeldt (Cav: Ex 2)’

Under Initial Cavalry: delete ‘Armfeldt (Ex 2)’ and substitute ‘Under Lewenhaupt’s Command’.

Page 57, Left hand column: Menshikov’s Command

Ingermanlandski (3 T) should be Ingermanlandski (3 T) and inset into the page.

Page 65, Left hand column: Right Wing

Life Guard Cavalry (4 E) should be Life Guard Cavalry (4 E) and inset into the page.



Page 66, Right hand column: Right Wing
Should be as follows.

Right Wing: Rodsten (A: 2). Cavalry in 2 brigades.
Horse: Life Guard Horse (2 E)
1* Sjaellandske (2)
Dragoons: Life Dragoons (4 V)
Part of Sjaellandske (2 R)
Infantry (1 brigade): Prince Christian’s (2 T)

Page 66, Right hand column: Left Wing
Should be as follows.

Left Wing: Dewitz (A: 2). Cavalry in 3 brigades

Horse: 1% Fynske (2)

2" Fynske (2)

1* Jyske (1)

3" Sjaellandske (1)
Dragoons: Bulow’s (4 T)

Part of Sjaellandske (2 R)

Infantry (1 brigade): 1* Imperial (2 V, AP)

Marine (2 V, DS)
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I will add more as they occur. I would like to thank the various members of the Polemos Yahoo group for their questions featured
here. If you have any questions please contact me via this group - http://qames.qroups.vahoo.com/q roup/polemos/

Nick Dorrel




