Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > Proxies and Alternatives > Peninsular Spanish Dragoons.
TOPIC: Peninsular Spanish Dragoons.
PM Spangenhelm
Standard User
Peninsular Spanish Dragoons.
Spangenhelm
21st May 2016 06:42:25

Just paint the heavy cavalry breastplate yellow?  Or is there some other recommendation from the Napoleonic scholars?  Very much a novice here on all things Napoleonic.

PM njt236
Standard User
njt236
21st May 2016 10:24:39

Coat, waistcoat and breeches were yellow with the following facing colours for regiment Rey crimson, Reina light red, Almansa light blue, Villaviciosa and Sagunto green, Pavia red, Numancia and Lusitania black. Pavia, Sagunto and Lusitania had yellow collars. Coat turnbacks were yellow. Shabraques were yellow edged whiteIn 1807-08 Almansa and Villaviciosa wore green dolman and breeches with red facings . Shako had red plume. NO breastplates

Through the travail of the ages Midst the pomp and toil of war Have I fought and strove and perished Countless times upon this star.
So as through a glass and darkly The age long strife I see Where I fought in many guises, Many names but always me.
So forever in the future Shall I battle as of yore, Dying to be born a fighter But to die again once more.         

G S Patton

PM Spangenhelm
Standard User
Spangenhelm
22nd May 2016 07:58:05

"NO breastplates"

I know that, or at least all the illustrations I've seen show that.  But in the catalogue I have a choice of heavy cavalry NSP10 with what sure looks like breastplates, or of hussars with mirlitons NSP11, or mounted civilian guerrillas, thus my question in the Proxies and Alternatives section.