Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Painting and Modelling > Modelling and Conversions > Basing french naps.
TOPIC: Basing french naps.
PM Smudger1893
Standard User
Basing french naps.
Smudger1893
27th Jul 2016 08:36:43

Hi all,im new to all this and I really could do with some advice on basing my French Naps.Im thinking of putting them on 60x30 bases for polemos rules but I don't want to just put them in 2 rows like the Brits.I would like them to look different to the said British.All advice and help would be greatly appreciated.

PM steve1
Standard User
Basing french naps.
steve1
28th Jul 2016 08:55:28

You could base them with the Voltigeurs out in front as a loose skirmish line and then base the main French Infantry behing them in a column of attack 4,6 or 8 figures wide. After all the main tactic appeared to be column attack and smash the enemy by sheer weight of numbers in a small area. A sort of very early Schwerpunkt assault. Plus I personally think it would look good.

PM keithabarker
Standard User
Basing french naps.
keithabarker
28th Jul 2016 09:22:11

You can generalize and say the the British fought in a 2-deep line and the French in a 3-deep line.

On a 60x30 "polemos" base, I placed my French line infantry in 3 ranks of 8 figures (including the command figures in the front rank). Located towards the back of the base so that I had room to add a mounted officer towards the front leading the infantry.

For light infantry, I did the same 3x8 but had a few skirmishers in front instead of the mounted officer.

This is also the way Pete builds his packs, so that a pack will give you exactly four (or occasionaly two) bases.

PM Smudger1893
Standard User
Basing french naps.
Smudger1893
28th Jul 2016 12:10:33