Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Rules > Other Rules > DBA 3 / HotT question
TOPIC: DBA 3 / HotT question
PM TriOpticon
Standard User
DBA 3 / HotT question
TriOpticon
18th Jun 2016 04:23:40

I am thinking of doing DBA and HotT in 6mm.

I was curious who else does this and any suggestions for number of figures per base?  Or, how to differentiate the different units?  I am still new to the system but a 4Bd in 15mm scale has 4 figures so it is fairly easy to tell but I am not certain about 6mm scale as more figures would be on the base.

I was going to use the same base width, 40mm, as I prefer that smaller size table, etc.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

PM I am a spambot
Standard User
DBA 3 / HotT question
I am a spambot
19th Jun 2016 06:36:32

I do not play DBA version 3, but I do do HotT and DBA in version 2.2 and 2.2+.  The vast majority of my 6mm DBA and HotT armies are on 40mm wide bases.  I particularly like Big Battle DBA or HotT (with armies three times the basic size) with 6mm figures.

I have tended to use the old, well-established four times as many troops as 15mm figures would use, usually in 2 ranks.  For example, hoplites would have 16 figures in 2 ranks of 8.  That said, some kinds of troops, such as psiloi (infantry skirmishers) and light horse look better distributed in an irregular way around the base.

Elephants, chariots and artillery usually go two to a base.  I only managed to fit one scythed chariot per 40mm square base.