Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > General > French Elite Troops
TOPIC: French Elite Troops
PM Norsemaelstrom
Standard User
French Elite Troops
Norsemaelstrom
12th Nov 2022 11:55:23

Hello everyone! I recently picked up a French starter army for 1806-1812 and I discovered that it contained some line infantry that the website calls Elite troops. I am new to the period and believe the term Elite troops refers to the Young and Old Guard? Is this the case and if not what figures from Baccus would be considered Young/Old Guard? Thanks!

PM Bunny
Standard User
French Elite Troops
Bunny
14th Nov 2022 07:50:37

Hi Norse,

No the elites are the grenadier and voltigure companies with the battalion.

PM peter
Administrator
French Elite Troops
peter
14th Nov 2022 01:16:25

Each battalion will consist of 1 command, 4 line and one elite strip.  The elites, as Bunny correctly points out, are the Grenadiers and Voltogeurs.

I have plans.   I am dangerous when I have plans...

PM Norsemaelstrom
Standard User
French Elite Troops
Norsemaelstrom
23rd Nov 2022 02:59:07

Thank you for the information. Which figures in your line would be used to represent the Old and Young Guards?

PM Whirlwind
Standard User
French Elite Troops
Whirlwind
23rd Nov 2022 07:04:12