Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > General > Brand New to 6mm
TOPIC: Brand New to 6mm
PM HyveMynd
Standard User
Brand New to 6mm
HyveMynd
11th Jul 2023 01:56:20

Hi all,

As the subject says, I'm brand new to 6mm wargaming (though not wargaming in general) and have been covetously scrolling thorough the Baccus site for a few months now. The small scale really appeals to me, since I don't have much space to store or play miniature games (which hasn't stopped me from buying far too many 28mm minis...). I've been looking at rulesets (Warmaster, Lion Rampant 2e, and Hail Caesar 2e in partucular) and have decided to take the plunge.

My question is about basing.

I understand how you bas your miniatures depends largely on what rules you're using, but also that many rulesets are flexible about basing so that the same miniature can be used for several different games. II also understand that a unit's frontage is often more important than it's depth. I'm leaning towards using 60x30 bases, just so I can order everything from Baccus and save on shipping cost (I live in Japan, and international shipping is expensive).

While browsing the website and other 6mm wargaming blogs, I've noticed that some miniatures are on significantly larger bases (60x60 and possibly even 60x90) with most of the miniatures arranged along the back edge of the base. What's the reason for this?

Is it purely decorative? A way to turn the base into a little diorama? Some long rectangular bases have skirmishers, casualties, or other decoractive bits towards the front. Is there a game rule reason for it? Do deeper bases confir some sort of advantage, or do certain types of units need deeper bases? Or is it a practical choice? Larger bases are easier to pick up, harder to knock over, and protect models with long pikes better.