Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > Looking for Players > Ancient Wargaming in the Netherlands
TOPIC: Ancient Wargaming in the Netherlands
PM Philhellene
Standard User
Ancient Wargaming in the Netherlands
Philhellene
4th Feb 2021 08:12:30

There have already been a few Dutch threads posted on this forum the past few years, but I'd like to know if there is a club or a few clubless individuals in the Netherlands that are interested in playing 6mm Ancients (after the Covid-19 situation of course).

I'm pretty new to the hobby in general, so I don't know which of the rulesets are preferred around here, although I'm most likely going to base my future army for Warmaster Ancients - so if anyone has a 10mm army and doesn't mind playing against someone with a 6mm one I'm open to that as well! :-)

Email dourpuritan PM dourpuritan
Standard User
dourpuritan
5th Feb 2021 02:05:25

Not an ancient wargamer as I have never found a set of rules that really captures it for me. Well, not since Hoplite Warfare in the 1970s. I also prefer to play solo these days. However, Karwansaray BV in Zutphen, publishers of Wargames Soldiers and Strategy, may be able to help if you call Jasper Oorthuys on 0575 776076, at the WSS offices. He will be able to point you in the direction of Dutch wargames clubs. Unfortunately, despite being a Dutch published magazine, WSS is only available in English. Succes en tot ziens,

Andy (Delfzijl)

A little goes a long way

PM Nick the Lemming
Standard User
Nick the Lemming
5th Feb 2021 06:17:09

I was about to suggest contacting Jasper myself! He's a very friendly and knowledgeable bloke and I'm sure would be most helpful.

PM Philhellene
Standard User
Philhellene
5th Feb 2021 11:15:59

Thank you for the suggestion! I'll look into contacting him anytime soon.

PM frederick_the_green