Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> General > Proxies and Alternatives > Italians for 1487 Battle
TOPIC: Italians for 1487 Battle
PM canis
Standard User
Italians for 1487 Battle
canis
1st Aug 2023 11:51:39

Hello, 
I am quite new to the hobby, and I would like to start with a 6mm project regarding a battle fought near my hometown, i.e., the "Battle of Crevola" fought between Swiss and Duchy of Milan in 1487.  
However, I am not sure how to implement Milanese infantry. In that battle, Milanese infantry consists of "Provvisionati", i.e., professional civic soldiers equipped with a barbuta helmet, a rotella shield, and a polearm (spear/partisan/bill/roncone), and wearing the typically Italian tight pants.  

I tried to upload a picture, but I failed miserably, lol

Do you have any suggestion for this kind of infantry?

Thank you and best regards

Marcello

PM Captain Brockman
Standard User
Italians for 1487 Battle
Captain Brockman
2nd Aug 2023 03:31:08

are they like these  ?    I would guess maybe Wars of the roses WOR07 and WOR08 ??    

Valar Morghulis

PM canis
Standard User
Italians for 1487 Battle
canis
2nd Aug 2023 07:00:18

Hi Captain Brockman, thank you very much for the suggestion!

Unfortunately, WOR07 and/or WOR08 were both candidates to represents the Swiss army, mainly composed of pikemens fighting in blocks. Maybe for Italian infantry I could use WOR07, trimming the pikes to a shorter extent, and gluing some small round disks to represent the round shileds... 

In any case, a link with a picture of the infantry I would like to implement is the following one: 

http://www.medievaldesign.com/restricted/immagini/1grande_2712.jpg

PS: is there any tutorial which explains how to attach pictures? thanks!

PM peter
Administrator
Italians for 1487 Battle
peter
2nd Aug 2023 10:10:58