Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Painting and Modelling > Painting Questions > Painting Napoleonic British
TOPIC: Painting Napoleonic British
PM zabarr
Standard User
Painting Napoleonic British
zabarr
30th Aug 2019 07:38:26

I’m starting work on 6mm naps, 1815 British specifically. I’d love to crowd source paint recipe ideas. Which paints do y’all use? Ideally Vallejo. While I’m pretty experienced with 6mm, I’m new to naps, and it’s taking a lot of trial and error to find the balance between the authentic color, and the right brightness to make 6mm pop. Any help would be much appreciated!

PM Igor
Standard User
Igor
30th Aug 2019 11:20:12

There are two schools of thought for painting 6mm ;

1) make everything brighter to make them pop because they are small.

2) tone down the colours to represent the fact that you are looking at units from a distance.

Personally I favour the second method. Black becomes very dark grey and white becomes very light grey. The only vivid colours I use are are on flags and unit markings.

I therve the marthter.

PM jon1066
Standard User
jon1066
30th Aug 2019 02:18:00

For British I would undercost them Brown (musket, etc already painted!) then paint a light red.  I am not familiar with Vallejo but I use foundry triad light bright red 15C for anything red.

PM Glenn Pearce
Standard User
Glenn Pearce
30th Aug 2019 03:33:39

Hello zabarr!

I use the cheapest dollar store paint that you can find. Gave up on expensive paints years ago. You can usually find a reasonable colour choice to match whatever your painting.