Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Painting and Modelling > Painting Questions > Painting Questions
TOPIC: Painting Questions
PM matt
Standard User
Painting Questions
matt
16th Nov 2016 02:32:53

Hi I personally do the following.

1. Black undercoat. Always. 6mm -28mm  I always black undercoat. I've seen many who white undercoat but I prefer black. I'm an average painter and black, more so in 6mm, hides my sins. 

2. Washes  not me, I can't get a good result with washes in any scale  so I don't bother. 

3. Varnish. Always. Matt usually but i see the appeal in gloss. 

4. No. the appeal of 6mm is that I don't have to worry about buttons. My hussars get a few white/yellow/black lines to look like lace but that's it. 

If you're worried try painting a few spare strips in different styles and see which is easier for you  

PM DougM
Standard User
Painting Questions
DougM
16th Nov 2016 10:52:51

Hi Oppi

I find you can get great results using a few simple techniques, and that it's a matter of what you want to paint. My figures always end up being good enough for me to love them, and other people like them. I use a variety of washes, stark highlights and I'm pretty happy with the results.

I did a blog post on how I paint my Napoleonic French - here:

http://aleadodyssey.blogspot.co.uk/2016/10/painting-napoleonic-french-in-6mm.html

PM tdumontelle
Standard User
Painting Questions
tdumontelle
19th Nov 2016 06:26:43

Average painter here.

I use a grey primer and then undercoat in black.  I block paint in bright colors; dark blue I use light blue etc.  I don't use washes on 6mm.