Notice: Due to issues with the processing of VAT on deliveries to the EU a limit has been put in place, restricting orders to a maximum of £135. We apologise for any inconvenience this causes.
> Forums
> Rules > Polemos Rules > Maps and Campaigns
TOPIC: Maps and Campaigns
PM rsjahn
Standard User
Maps and Campaigns
rsjahn
21st Feb 2023 11:01:17

For a time now I am thinking about campaigns to give battles more 'meaning'. I have read Henry Hydes book about 'Wargaming Campains' and the 'Napoleonic Companion' from Baccus, so the rules are not really a problem - but the maps are! I can find historical maps in the Internet or in books, but they usualy have two problems: not enough information about the landscapes (especially hills and woods) and too much informations that are confusing (every little town with a name near it). It is of course possible to rework these maps with the computer, but that is a lot of work and I'm not really good with these kind of programs.

Is there anywhere a source of useful maps for wargaming? Knowing how much work it is to make maps I'm quite willing to pay for it. Or may it be a new line of products for Bacccus?

Cheers, Ralf

PM Whirlwind
Standard User
Maps and Campaigns
Whirlwind
21st Feb 2023 12:45:29

Is there any particular area you had in mind? or period? or specifc campaign?

PM rsjahn
Standard User
Maps and Campaigns
rsjahn
21st Feb 2023 12:53:20

Two in the moment: 1809 french-austrian war, that is a very well defined area alongside the danube. The other one is ACW, well, thats a lot of space...

PM davidheading
Standard User
Maps and Campaigns
davidheading
21st Feb 2023 02:09:44

I think maps are a difficult question, and it is often easy to get into an 'it must be perfect' mindset. A sketch of the area is a good enough start. You only need the detail when two forces clash - adding every tree to a map lands up with most of the work being irrelevant.